Server Never Connects

Fri Jan 05, 2018 6:04 pm

  • Having issues trying to get my girlfriend's MOHAA working on her new PC. I've done a cd install and a download install, neither have worked. Game launches normally, it just never connects to a server, nothing in console and the connection never times out... I've checked windows firewall and mohaa is an allowed program. Any suggestions?
    vicodin
     
    Posts: 38
    Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:21 pm

Fri Jan 05, 2018 7:55 pm

  • vicodin wrote:Having issues trying to get my girlfriend's MOHAA working on her new PC. I've done a cd install and a download install, neither have worked. Game launches normally, it just never connects to a server, nothing in console and the connection never times out... I've checked windows firewall and mohaa is an allowed program. Any suggestions?


    Did you get the patches? And the patch to fix the server browser? One thing to look for is to see if windows update KB3086255 is installed. If it is, delete it.

    Rather than installing from the game disks,its probably better to download MOHAA Revival.

    MOHAA revival contains fully patched and updated MOHAA, Spearhead, and Breakthrough with working server browsers.

    http://mohaarevival.tk/

    Oh, yeah; there's one other way. You can copy your entire EA games folder using a thumb drive. Copy it to the other computer. Its better NOT to install it to the "program files" folder, as windows file protections make it more difficult to add maps and edit your unnamedsoldier.cfg.

    once you copy the folder, run the "configure.exe" in your MOHAA folder, and the game will most likely run fine.
    Image
    User avatar
    High on Death
    Site Admin
     
    Posts: 1325
    Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:27 pm

Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:34 pm

  • OK, I used the download from our site, is that MOHAA Revival? I did patch the server browser, didn't work whether I did in-game browser, query browser or direct IP. Has anyone had the issue of it never connecting OR timing out? Maybe there's an extra layer of windows security I haven't bypassed? Or maybe I need to be running in compatibility mode for a specific version of Windows?
    vicodin
     
    Posts: 38
    Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:21 pm

Sat Jan 06, 2018 12:55 am

  • No its not revival. I think it works but you need to edit the unnamedsoldier.cfg to change the user name, I think. I'm not familiar with the one in our downloads so I'm not sure what to tell you. If you can't get that one to work try removing that update I mentioned.

    I highly recommend the revival one. Gives you MOHAA, Allied Assault, and Breakthrough, all patched, no CD, with server browsers fixed.

    EDIT - Oh, yeah, like I said, if you end up installing again, don't install it to the default folder (windows/program files). Install it somewhere on your C: drive. Makes getting the customs working easier.
    Last edited by High on Death on Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    Reason: config.sys? That is soooo 1990.
    Image
    User avatar
    High on Death
    Site Admin
     
    Posts: 1325
    Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:27 pm

Sat Jan 06, 2018 2:27 pm

  • It's probably that windows file issue from an old update.
    Here is the Microsoft website with the info... https://support.microsoft.com/en-gb/hel ... -component

    Here is the file that could be causing your issue.... KB3086255. This update turns off the service for the secdrv.sys driver.


    Hope this helps.
    MsDimeanor
     
    Posts: 632
    Joined: Sun Aug 17, 2014 1:30 am

Sun Jan 07, 2018 8:17 pm

  • K I'll try both suggestions out. FYI, mohaarevival.tk no longer works but a mirror appears to have been made at http://www.mymohaa.tk/
    vicodin
     
    Posts: 38
    Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2017 5:21 pm

Sun Jan 21, 2018 6:40 pm

  • Vic,

    Other things to try:
    Ping the server - this will tell you if your firewall or modem/router is letting you through - could there be another firewall...
    Run as administrator also

    Assuming you are connecting to the correct IP, it wont connect if you have the wrong version (i.e. from an install CD - this needs the patches)

    Like HOD suggested, easiest way is to copy from your PC onto a drive and paste it on your C drive - run the CONFIGURE.exe

    If the game starts and runs, Its your firewall/router/modem/windows defender etc

    Tro

    Edit: ps ignore - just saw the date lol...

    Tro
    Tro
     
    Posts: 681
    Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:13 am



Return to MOHAA




Information
  • Who is online
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests
cron