How to bind Names in MoHAA With Spaces


  • You will need to go into your unnamedsoldier.cfg with notepad+ or textpad to add it since it will be easier seems the only way for it to work.

    Go to the bottom you should see
    //
    // Aliases
    //

    If Not just a copy and paste and use my example


    //
    // Aliases
    //
    alias name2 "set name ".t$n^AriFeannor";bind - name"
    alias name "set name ".t$n^Ari Feannor";bind - name2"

    Then you would also add or type in console later

    bind - name

    You can name your alias anything you want and the whole line has to be in quotes as well as your name its self having its own pair and no spaces before or after the semi colon ;. And don't forget to bind each alias to the other alias not the same one. This will make a cycle, if you don't want a cycle you wont need the bind part. Just make each alias for one name that would look like this

    //
    // Aliases
    //
    alias thisname "set name ".t$n^AriFeannor""
    alias thatname "set name ".t$n^Ari Feannor""

    then bind - thisname
    bind = thatname

    Bonus alias

    Changes whether or not you can see your gun or hands.

    alias vma0 "set cg_drawviewmodel 0;bind e vma1"
    alias vma1 "set cg_drawviewmodel 1;bind e vma2"
    alias vma2 "set cg_drawviewmodel 2;bind e vma0"

    Sound cycle

    alias +sound "s_volume .450; bind d -sound "
    alias -sound "s_volume .125; bind d +sound "

    Model change cycle, its nice if you want to use force models and not use the biggest model yourself on either team especially if you switch sides.
    alias team1 " dm_playermodel allied_manon ; dm_playergermanmodel german_panzer_tankcommander ; bind s team2 "
    alias team2 " dm_playermodel allied_airborne ; dm_playergermanmodel german_afrika_private ; bind s team1 "

    Lagometer toggle

    alias +lago "cg_lagometer 1; bind a -lago "
    alias -lago "cg_lagometer 0; bind a +lago "
    AriFeannor
     
    Posts: 146
    Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:07 am


  • AriFeannor wrote:You will need to go into your unnamedsoldier.cfg with notepad+ or textpad to add it since it will be easier seems the only way for it to work.

    Go to the bottom you should see
    //
    // Aliases
    //

    If Not just a copy and paste and use my example


    //
    // Aliases
    //
    alias name2 "set name ".t$n^AriFeannor";bind - name"
    alias name "set name ".t$n^Ari Feannor";bind - name2"

    Then you would also add or type in console later

    bind - name

    You can name your alias anything you want and the whole line has to be in quotes as well as your name its self having its own pair and no spaces before or after the semi colon ;. And don't forget to bind each alias to the other alias not the same one. This will make a cycle, if you don't want a cycle you wont need the bind part. Just make each alias for one name that would look like this

    //
    // Aliases
    //
    alias thisname "set name ".t$n^AriFeannor""
    alias thatname "set name ".t$n^Ari Feannor""

    then bind - thisname
    bind = thatname

    Bonus alias

    Changes whether or not you can see your gun or hands.

    alias vma0 "set cg_drawviewmodel 0;bind e vma1"
    alias vma1 "set cg_drawviewmodel 1;bind e vma2"
    alias vma2 "set cg_drawviewmodel 2;bind e vma0"

    Sound cycle

    alias +sound "s_volume .450; bind d -sound "
    alias -sound "s_volume .125; bind d +sound "

    Model change cycle, its nice if you want to use force models and not use the biggest model yourself on either team especially if you switch sides.
    alias team1 " dm_playermodel allied_manon ; dm_playergermanmodel german_panzer_tankcommander ; bind s team2 "
    alias team2 " dm_playermodel allied_airborne ; dm_playergermanmodel german_afrika_private ; bind s team1 "

    Lagometer toggle

    alias +lago "cg_lagometer 1; bind a -lago "
    alias -lago "cg_lagometer 0; bind a +lago "


    Useful info, particularly the lago-o-meter....

    The rest however ... have to ask why?
    Don't get me wrong, not wanting to start anything! I'm a happy chappy! :D

    why play under an alias?
    why also use forced models ... my opinion only... :D - this is particularly bad
    Creates bad habits, smart players need to be able to tell who is who .. and adjust their gameplay accordingly
    Also very helpful to know if there is more then 1 shooting at you!
    You might have an advantage using a colourful skin (you spell that word different here!) as the eyes do get attracted to movement and colours in general ... but this would become a downfall in fog (if you have it... ) and in dark areas etc

    Again I am not having ago ... please be clear on that :P

    The biggest model ... that just scares me .... I've seen a forced screenshot of a bigbird skin.... which obviously gives a great advantage and not what the game was design to do ... unfair and not the best sportsmanship

    Same with snaps ....
    I mean why try to gain an obvious advantage, I much prefer respect??

    Anyways, wasn't supposed to be a gripe - not my intention!

    I am a big fan of the way its meant to be played, also understanding the requirements/efforts to keep the game alive (which Misfits are achieving very well)
    These skins are the first mods I have ever had, kinda enjoying them!
    Never liked the blood mod, puts me off??

    Anyways, see you all on the server again soon!

    Tro
    Tro
     
    Posts: 690
    Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:13 am


  • Tro wrote:
    AriFeannor wrote:You will need to go into your unnamedsoldier.cfg with notepad+ or textpad to add it since it will be easier seems the only way for it to work.

    Go to the bottom you should see
    //
    // Aliases
    //

    If Not just a copy and paste and use my example


    //
    // Aliases
    //
    alias name2 "set name ".t$n^AriFeannor";bind - name"
    alias name "set name ".t$n^Ari Feannor";bind - name2"

    Then you would also add or type in console later

    bind - name

    You can name your alias anything you want and the whole line has to be in quotes as well as your name its self having its own pair and no spaces before or after the semi colon ;. And don't forget to bind each alias to the other alias not the same one. This will make a cycle, if you don't want a cycle you wont need the bind part. Just make each alias for one name that would look like this

    //
    // Aliases
    //
    alias thisname "set name ".t$n^AriFeannor""
    alias thatname "set name ".t$n^Ari Feannor""

    then bind - thisname
    bind = thatname

    Bonus alias

    Changes whether or not you can see your gun or hands.

    alias vma0 "set cg_drawviewmodel 0;bind e vma1"
    alias vma1 "set cg_drawviewmodel 1;bind e vma2"
    alias vma2 "set cg_drawviewmodel 2;bind e vma0"

    Sound cycle

    alias +sound "s_volume .450; bind d -sound "
    alias -sound "s_volume .125; bind d +sound "

    Model change cycle, its nice if you want to use force models and not use the biggest model yourself on either team especially if you switch sides.
    alias team1 " dm_playermodel allied_manon ; dm_playergermanmodel german_panzer_tankcommander ; bind s team2 "
    alias team2 " dm_playermodel allied_airborne ; dm_playergermanmodel german_afrika_private ; bind s team1 "

    Lagometer toggle

    alias +lago "cg_lagometer 1; bind a -lago "
    alias -lago "cg_lagometer 0; bind a +lago "


    Useful info, particularly the lago-o-meter....

    The rest however ... have to ask why?
    Don't get me wrong, not wanting to start anything! I'm a happy chappy! :D

    why play under an alias?
    why also use forced models ... my opinion only... :D - this is particularly bad
    Creates bad habits, smart players need to be able to tell who is who .. and adjust their gameplay accordingly
    Also very helpful to know if there is more then 1 shooting at you!
    You might have an advantage using a colourful skin (you spell that word different here!) as the eyes do get attracted to movement and colours in general ... but this would become a downfall in fog (if you have it... ) and in dark areas etc

    Again I am not having ago ... please be clear on that :P

    The biggest model ... that just scares me .... I've seen a forced screenshot of a bigbird skin.... which obviously gives a great advantage and not what the game was design to do ... unfair and not the best sportsmanship

    Same with snaps ....
    I mean why try to gain an obvious advantage, I much prefer respect??

    Anyways, wasn't supposed to be a gripe - not my intention!

    I am a big fan of the way its meant to be played, also understanding the requirements/efforts to keep the game alive (which Misfits are achieving very well)
    These skins are the first mods I have ever had, kinda enjoying them!
    Never liked the blood mod, puts me off??

    Anyways, see you all on the server again soon!

    Tro


    First never mentioned snaps, second if you read what skins I have selected in the alias commands, they are stock, yes I have fog, and its not playing under an alias, an alias is a type of command not name, unless you mean the purpose of the name change, someone asked how to bind a name that contained spaces like "Ari Feannor" versus "AriFeannor" in the server, I said just bind it with " " like
    Code: Select all
     bind k name "Ari Feannor"
    but apparently that didn't work, I don't like mohaa beating me so I thought maybe an alias might work to bind names with spaces and it did and posted it here since it would be easier to understand in a forum than explain ingame. And forced models are the way the game is meant to be played, since it is an option, if it is under options, its legal. And if you want to out glitch someone who has a mannon skin, having the airborne skin forced on him shows what little of his body you can see better showing out the edge if it even shows still, if it wasn't for glitching, there would be no point in forcing skins.
    AriFeannor
     
    Posts: 146
    Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:07 am


  • Like I said, wasn't having a go at you :)

    As for glitching, OK during pub play, but in a scrim its simply not the way to go

    You have to play smarter and not put yourself in a position where its 50/50

    I mentioned snaps as an example only, to me its like 3rd person in a sense, or removing bushes etc, or cinematic ... now I know a lot wont agree with me on this one! :)
    but hey, all to their own, I just love the game and the way it was meant to be!

    I still open the doors on V2 when the planes fly over, makes me feel safer :D

    See you on the server tonight!

    Tro
    Tro
     
    Posts: 690
    Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:13 am


  • Thanks Ari for the name binding. What are snaps?
    dckx
     
    Posts: 254
    Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 7:35 am


  • dckx wrote:Thanks Ari for the name binding. What are snaps?


    To be honest I am not entirely sure what it does but it's close to either packets or frames or lag script type of thing, the cmd is snaps in console and default value is 20, if you change it, it seems to lag or something and might effect how others see you, I just don't mess with it since it probably could be used to cheat.
    AriFeannor
     
    Posts: 146
    Joined: Fri Jan 02, 2015 12:07 am


  • I agree Tro...I like to use my graphics to the fullest when I play. Some don't. They like minimal bushes, etc to see around. I prefer as much as my comp can handle. I even use smoke and volumetric smoke, which is a cool effect when things get blown up, though a few too many nades down a hall, and i can't see shit! I also like the blood mod, so you can see if you hit someone at a distance.!
    ~ D@rbY Cr(A)sH ~
    User avatar
    DarbyCrash
     
    Posts: 65
    Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2015 10:40 pm
    Location: Vancouer ,washington USA


  • DarbyCrash wrote:I agree Tro...I like to use my graphics to the fullest when I play. Some don't. They like minimal bushes, etc to see around. I prefer as much as my comp can handle. I even use smoke and volumetric smoke, which is a cool effect when things get blown up, though a few too many nades down a hall, and i can't see shit! I also like the blood mod, so you can see if you hit someone at a distance.!


    Seen a few blood mods, many mods in fact ... been to soo many LAN's I cant remember them all!
    one thing for is for sure (I think Sleeper touched on this in Vent last week) - the more colours there are, the less trained (or sensitive) your eye becomes, which in return effects your response time and possibly to some degree your aim (particularly if you swing/flick/snap and shoot)
    I have always owned in LAN's never lost .. because its always the same ... I think I've had the same settings for over 10 years now
    The players with mods, lean-binds skins etc .. always dropped off the pace, because they have their limitations or disadvantages

    Did try the blood-mod available to download from here ... didn't like it, but do like the idea (just not the red that comes with it)

    Fog , love it - its a challenge to guess at times, when you see the flash-fire from the rifle - hate being shot through it though .. a pet hate lol
    Smoke, same deal - looking for movement within or at the feet etc - where the smoke starts to clear on an aerial nade

    I love games within games, if someone keeps getting me from a spot, ill keep going back until I work it out (not in scrims but!)

    I just realized I'm probably addicted again, look at me rambling on!

    love this game!

    Tro

    Tro
    Tro
     
    Posts: 690
    Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:13 am


  • ari, do you know how to change the position of the viewmodel? like if i wanted the gun to be more center on my screen and not so much to the right; do you know how to change that?
    Image
    User avatar
    buckwheat
     
    Posts: 268
    Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 8:06 pm


  • buckwheat wrote:ari, do you know how to change the position of the viewmodel? like if i wanted the gun to be more center on my screen and not so much to the right; do you know how to change that?


    If your weapon isn't centered, then you got something fucked up dude. Is your resolution set right?
    Image
    User avatar
    High on Death
    Site Admin
     
    Posts: 1379
    Joined: Fri Aug 01, 2014 12:27 pm

Next


Return to MOHAA




Information
  • Who is online
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
cron